Text Size:
Smaller Text Normal Text Larger Text


Follow us on Twitter


The Agreement establishing the Nordic Optical Telescope Scientific Association (NOTSA) was signed and entered into force on May 7, 1984. Thus, on that date the Research Councils of Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden created the organization that then built and now operates NOT. The Agreement was renewed in 1994 and again in 1997, when the University of Iceland joined NOTSA as the fifth Associate.

On May 7, 2004, NOTSA therefore celebrates its 20th anniversary and the end of its teenage years. We believe that NOT acts its age - mature, yet lively, with many friends and a bright future.

It is an appropriate occasion to salute the foresight of those whose vision led to the creation of NOTSA, and its first Director, Arne Ardeberg, who led the years of effort that turned NOT from vision into reality.

Many happy returns!

Back to top Last modified: 07-May-2004